A Round of Applause

AE Smith launches new series of annual awards to recognise the outstanding contributions of staff members from around the country

18 Apr 2012
The 2012 AE Smith Recognition Awards were launched at Melbourne’s Crown Metropol during a major training event on 18 April where representatives from every AE Smith office in the country came together.

Group General Manager Service, Aldo Cevaal presented the awards to the worthy inaugural recipients, each of whom Aldo said had contributed significantly to the success of the wider team.

The new awards join the AE Smith National Training Achievement Awards, which have been running since 2005, and were introduced to encourage and acknowledge young trainees and apprentices within the organisation.

Aldo said the awards scheme reflected the priority that AE Smith places on its ‘Foundations for Success’, which guide everything that the company and its employees do.

“In everything we do, we believe in helping people,” Aldo said.

“The way we help is by taking the time to hear what is really important to them. We accept personal responsibility to use our resources; to find the right outcome. We care about people’s welfare; believe in family values and do what we say we are going to do.”

Aldo said AE Smith’s ’Foundations for Success’ embody six actions:

  • Safety – Putting safety first
  • Teamwork – Helping and supporting each other
  • Communicate – Communicating openly and honestly
  • Integrity – Acting ethically and with integrity
  • Initiative – Encouraging and supporting new ideas
  • Recognise – Recognising outstanding performance and celebrating success
It’s the latter that Aldo says was the impetus for the new Awards scheme: 

“The individuals who’ve received these awards are people that have embraced and embody the Foundations of Success in the work they do for the company,” he added.

AE Smith CEO, Andrew Permezel commended each of the recipients for their contribution over the year and congratulated them on the awards.

“Individual success is invariably a product of great teamwork and the respective offices of each winner should also be recognised,” said Andrew.

11 people were recognised on the day including five Honourable Mentions in addition to the individuals who were presented with AE Smith Recognition Awards for initiative, performance and teamwork:

Bryan Little (Brisbane Service)
Recognition Award for Teamwork –
Highest YTD cooperative sales

Daniel van der Ent (Sydney Service)
Recognition Award for Teamwork –
New account business development

Brian Webber (Perth Service)
Recognition Award for Performance –
Highest YTD individual project sales

Brett Sorenson (Brisbane Service)
Recognition Award for Performance –
Highest YTD individual maintenance sales

Wayne Long (Perth Service)
Recognition Award for Performance –
Account management

Brad Disher (Building Technologies)
Recognition Award for Initiative –
Solution development